Summer has begun!

This week was the first full week of summer vacation.

It meant sleeping in {at least a little bit} and daily trips to the pool for my older son’s swimming lessons.  Well, I’m not allowed to call them “lessons” but I am allowed to call it “swim class.”  I don’t know why he is so picky about it.  

It meant not spending an hour in a car pool line in the sweltering heat – and that part is my favorite.

It also meant my toddler wouldn’t get his daily car nap in the afternoons – and that part is not my favorite.

An 18-month-old who hasn’t napped becomes like a fiery ball of disaster after about 4 o’clock.  There is crying, screaming, wailing, tantrum-throwing, and just general melt-downedness going on.  And every day this week, I was delivered a new can of crazy in the early evening, by a curly-haired little fella who just can’t stand to be around himself if he doesn’t nap.  Today I opted for an afternoon car ride, and he’s now peacefully sleeping.  It’s lovely.  Really beautiful.  I guess if I have to go for a drive every afternoon all summer long, so be it.  Sonic has Happy Hour FOR A REASON.

The adjustments this week have been plenty, that’s for sure.

The business is also going through some adjustments too!  You’ll see some changes here on the blog as Droopy Daisy moves into its next phase.  I have a lot of new things in the works that are pretty darn exciting.  I can’t wait to share them with you.

For so many years of my life, I worked a job that was “good enough” with really fun people, but I was never truly happy with my career.  Since I began this journey with Droopy Daisy, I can’t say I’ve ever been happier with a “job.”  In life, find what makes you happy and go for it.  If you’re me, that’s being creative.  If you’re 18 months old, it’s probably a nap that you need.  So go take one.  Your mom will thank me.

Leave a Reply

