To-Do Tuesday – Hymnal Art

To-Do Tuesday – Hymnal Art

I love old books. I’ve had an affinity for them for years. I used to buy them up when I’d run across them, because the smell and the old inscriptions just made me smile. I have a grammar schoolbook with an inscription from the 1870’s. I heart that book so.

We came into a few old songbooks recently, Sacred Selections to be exact. I wasn’t sure what to do with them at first, because the pages are thin and aged and they aren’t really practical for devos for that reason.

I’m not sure where the idea came from, but I decided to use the books to make some hymnal art, Mod Podge-ing the pages to canvas and then adding a little flair with a vinyl detail. I really love the look of them.

My favorite part of doing this simple but lovely craft was the singing that accompanied the process. So fun.

Hymnal Art will be a large part of Droopy Daisy’s 2013 product line and I can’t wait to debut these at our first show! I hope everyone loves them as much as I do.

I’ve posted the items below on Facebook already but everything else will be a secret for now 🙂

And this little guy may just stay here with me 🙂

I hope this post inspires you to think a little differently about old books and get creative repurposing them!

I Heart Nap Time
Leave a Reply

