More Than Conquerors

More Than Conquerors

I’ve been thinking all day about what Scripture I wanted to post today. I should probably start on a list so I’m not trying to find one Scripture I want to focus on for the week late on a Sunday night…but what’s life without a little procrastination? I’ll certainly probably never know.

So I picked this passage from Romans…it’s a comfort to me and I can imagine this Scripture has comforted many who were far more oppressed than I’ve ever been. I can’t imagine living in a place where I’m not allowed to worship freely, but if I found myself in that place, this would be one of the Scriptures I’d probably recite over and over again.

We are MORE than conquerors.  What’s a conqueror?  A conqueror is one who overcomes…who wins…it’s one who takes it all.  So, if you are MORE than a conqueror…what are you?  Something to think about.

Bad things may happen to us, but God will still love us. Will we still love Him in those times? It’s easy to love and serve God when things are going well, but what about when times are hard? Is it so easy then? When we are beset by what seems like an endless tidal wave of our own problems, do we think about how God understands and still loves us? Do we lean on Him?

Just some thoughts that I plan to ponder over this week.

Romans 8

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? As it is written,
“For your sake we are being killed all the day long;
we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.”
No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.
(Romans 8:35-39 ESV)

Here’s to a great start to the week!

Leave a Reply

