Shop Savvy Saturday – Thinking Outside of the Craft Store Box

Shop Savvy Saturday – Thinking Outside of the Craft Store Box

Part of crafting is shopping.  You must buy the basics like glue, scissors, and tools, but you also must buy many other things as well.  It’s pretty simple to head over to Michaels, Hobby Lobby, Jo-Ann, or any one of a dozen other craft-type stores.  Their aisles are brightly lit, everything is pretty and color-coordinated and just perfect.

Giant companies have taken over the craft industry, with their intricate sets of tools and products that work together to help the crafter make exactly the same thing as the lady next door who bought exactly the same products at the same sale.  Crafting bliss? Far from it.

bigboxstore

Crafting is about individuality and uniqueness.  I’m not saying I don’t ever venture into one of those “big box” craft stores, as my husband can surely attest that I do.  But as time has gone on, the luster of it has faded for me.  Why buy wood at a craft store when I can salvage it? It doesn’t make sense to me.  Things I buy a lot of <ahem Mod Podge ahem> can be bought in bulk for a fraction of the cost of a big box craft store.  Did you know that stuff comes in a gallon bottle? You won’t find the gallons at any retail store I’ve seen.  I buy it online.  It is often much cheaper to source supplies online if you know exactly what you are looking for.  If you are just looking for inspiration, definitely browse around a big box craft store.  To me, that’s the point of them.

So where do you get supplies if you don’t get them from one of these stores?  There’s a myriad of possibilities.  Over the course of the next six weeks, we’ll discuss many other options to find items to craft with and the pros and cons.  Some will be other types of stores and some won’t be stores at all.

For now, I’m off to work on rearranging my crafty space so I can be more productive as I develop Droopy Daisy’s 2013 product line.  And I’m working hard to make sure I source my materials from many other places besides big box craft stores 🙂

Comments

  1. It would be awesome to create a “team”/group of crafters in different areas that can go in together on bulk supplies and maybe even find good wholesale options if people have business licenses.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Saturday, I blogged a bit about finding inspiration for your crafting outside of the “Craft Store Big Box.” […]

Leave a Reply

