Whimsy-Filled Wednesday – Burlap

Whimsy-Filled Wednesday – Burlap

I have a thing for burlap.

I think it’s time I confessed.

When I see it on sale, I must have it.

They had it in huge rolls at Home Depot the other day, right inside the front door.  My mind immediately raced in a hundred directions, thinking of what I could do with unlimited rolls of cheap burlap.

Burlap is amazing.

Did you know that burlap is also commonly called “Hessian cloth”?

From Wikipedia:

Hessian (pron.:/ˈhɛsi.ən/), or burlap in the US,is a woven fabric usually made from skin of the jute plantor sisal fibres,or may be combined with other vegetable fibres to make rope, nets, and similar products. Gunny cloth is similar.

Hessian, a dense woven fabric, has been historically produced as a coarse fabric, but more recently it is being used in a refined state known simply as jute as an ecofriendly material for bags, rugs, and other products.

The name “burlap” appears to be of unknown origin.  The name “hessian” is attributed to the use of the fabric, initially, as part of the uniform of soldiers from the German state of Hessewho were called “Hessians.”

Interesting.

Well, whatever you choose to call it, don’t pass it up next time you see it at Home Depot.  It can be used for all sorts of crafty pursuits and now comes in many other colors besides brown.

Here’s a few of my favorite burlappy ideas 🙂

Burlap Tablecloth from French Country Cottage

Burlap upholstery from The Potato Boutique

Burlap Banners (This one by Funkyshique on Etsy)

Burlap Flowers of all types!

Have you done anything crafty with burlap?  I’d love to see!  My oldest and I are currently working on a Valentine’s banner and I can’t wait to share it once it’s done!

Leave a Reply

