Daily Daisy…it starts now. With soup.

I’ve had the idea in mind to start a blog for a very long time.  I even started a few and never kept up with them.  I could never nail down a theme that I could stick with or get excited about.  Finally I came up with the idea of the “Daily Daisy.”  Basically, the ‘daily’ part means that I will post most days with one unique thing…maybe a recipe, maybe a craft, maybe a great deal, maybe a heartwarming tale from the chronicles of parenthood.  The ‘daisy’ part is taken from my business, Droopy Daisy.  At the time of this post, Droopy Daisy is still in the works, but will launch in Spring 2013.  Gifty and crafty goodness shall abound.

Anyway, on to the first Daily Daisy.  It’s a recipe for my chicken tortilla soup.  A made-up recipe that I actually came up with myself.  Shocking.

I was making THIS soup the night Matt proposed to me.  I was actually making several meals at once and had every eye on the stove going when he got down on one knee.  I had to ask him to wait just a second; things were boiling over 😛

Jamie’s Black Bean & Corn Chicken Tortilla Soup!

Ingredients:

One 15 oz. can black beans, washed and drained
One 15 oz. can whole kernel corn, drained
One 14 oz. can chicken broth
Two cans cream of chicken soup
One 10 oz. can of Rotel w/ Lime & Cilantro
One rotisserie chicken, shredded, white meat only
One tsp. chili powder
One tsp. ground cumin
One tsp. cilantro
½ tsp. garlic powder
One package of microwave Spanish rice, cooked

Topping:

Tortilla chips
Mexican cheese, shredded

Note: spices can be added or decreased to taste. Lime juice may be added if desired (I add 1/4 cup.)

Directions:

Add all ingredients into large stock pot. Simmer until warmed through.  Ladle into bowls. Add broken tortilla chips and Mexican cheese to top!

Leave a Reply

